Already Registered?      Or Please Register to Post a New Message

Login Register

Complete Message (link)

I recently got a Percheron molly mule that has a gate that is short and she is stabbing or landing on her toes. I have no experience with mules so the appearance of a proper gate for a mule is not familiar to me and I dismissed it for a little while thinking it is just how she is. Over time I have realized she is not comfortable. It seems that her front end is most effected. She seems in pleasant spirits but moves a little awkwardly. She does not resist harnessing and being driven around on a forecart but she has not been asked to do any real work. I had the farrier over to check her out and he confirms that she seems uncomfortable in the front end. He checked her and said she shows no sign of founder. I also drew blood and had her tested for tick borne diseases and she was negative for all. She is about 20 years old and is not overweight, maybe a little thin. She gets some first or second cut hay with some pasture time (about 3 hours a day total) but no grain or lush pasture. I do not know much about her history. I do know she was owned/ridden by a 300lb plus rider with some regularity before she was sold. I have had her for about a month.
I do have the vet coming over to check her out but wanted to know if this sounds like something others have seen/heard about. What would you check for? From the research I have done it sounds like the mule is a pretty rugged equine so I am not sure what to check for next.
I am sure I have left some important details out, please quiz me. I am grateful for your help.
Billy

BTW: She is a sweet animal and if she is not an exceptional mule then I cannot understand why anyone would want to spend time with a horse.

Ralph in N.E.Oh says 2016-06-13 19:17:17 (CST)

I defer to Vince. He is the mule man. I bet he will be a big help in this case.

7 years ago via Forums | Front Porch Forum

Billy Foster says 2016-06-14 08:46:13 (CST)