Already Registered?      Or Please Register to Post a New Message

Login Register

Complete Message (link)

I just bought a 16hh Percheron molly mule. She is mid teens in age and has a really nice attitude. I bought her to replace a big Haflinger gelding (he is 15hh and about 1200#). H=I have not hooked her to anything but I did ground drive her down the road and she did well. She handles well, is fine with you touching her all over and is not startled easily at all. My intention is to start working her easily since she is thin and has no muscle.
My Questions:
Do I fit her collar like a horse, looking for the same type of fit around the neck?
What type of bridle do folks use, can a regular draft type collar work? Lastly, what cautions/advice would mule folks give me as far as how to work and interact with her. I only have ever worked Haflingers so I am new to the donkey part of things. I tend to be a pretty low key kind of driver, always kind but I have been known to work them a bit hard.

Thank you for any advice you guys can give. I really like being around her and am looking forward to her relaxed nature.

Here are a couple pictures of her when e first got home.

Koty says 2016-05-13 15:14:09 (CST)

Just another naïve question ......... Will a mule work just as well as a conventional working horse?? I often see Amish teams that are mixed.

7 years ago via Forums | Front Porch Forum

vince mautino says 2016-05-13 17:19:17 (CST)

First thing try to find a copy of January ,2016 issue of Western Mule a magazine and read the article Bringing Home the New Mule.This should be required reading for every new mule owner .

You will hear a lot of people say to get them home and put them to work, but you will find that the mule will benefit from letting it settle in a few weeks to get it comfortable with you. As time goes on,you will see a marked difference in it's performance of you treat it right and it learns to trust you.Mules are big on that.