Already Registered?      Or Please Register to Post a New Message

Login Register

Complete Message (link)

• latest reply 8 years ago

8 years ago

rh comment count

Where do most of you all get harness from? A decent farm/parade harness. I know auctions farm sells etc. But I'm sure there a places on the net that sell new and used harness too.

Sharon says 2015-10-20 08:08:02 (CST)

I build harness and saddlery for a living. Big Sioux Saddlery. . . there's a website and I'm on FB also. Just google Big Sioux Saddlery. Of course every Amish community has a harness shop, the work of which varies from decent and cheap to very poor and cheap. I don't try to compete on price with them because there's no way for one of "us" to operate and live as cheaply as an Amish shop. But you will get superior quality and exactly what you want here, if you are willing to spend the bucks. Contact me through FB if you want more information. I have very little used on hand right now.

8 years ago via Forums | Front Porch Forum

Kate V says 2015-10-20 14:00:01 (CST)

Good suggestions from Bret and Sharon.

Where I used to work, they had bought their harnesses from Schmucker's in Pa.

Every now and then I'd take them to an Amish shop in Dayton Va, for a hot-oil dip. It was worth the drive.

Michael Sills says 2015-10-20 19:31:23 (CST)

We do have a couple Amish communities around here (Yoder and Owasso). One guy even travels here and does the shoeing on my drafts, don't know why I never thought to ask him. Were usually pretty chatty checking out each others new (old) stuff so how this never came up is beyond me.

Bertie says 2015-10-21 06:15:55 (CST)

Not sure where your located. Alot of times a Amish Harness maker will have a booth at Draft auctions.
My sister has bought from Walter at Orchard Hill Harness in Mt. Pleasant Mills, PA
He does mail order & you have to call, no online.
His # 570-539-2718.

stitchnhitch says 2015-10-22 10:55:06 (CST)

Stitch N Hitch Harness.